Cotton Memorial Presbyterian Church, formerly known as the First United Presbyterian Church of Henderson, was the nucleus around which devekoped a multi-unit enterprise consisting of the church, the townsville V. P. Church, Henderson Institute and Jubilee Hospital.
Readily avail records show that in 1888, a presbyterian Church was organized in Henderson by one Rev. S. S. Sevier, with only six members.
It was not until 1898 that a committee was appointed by the board of the United Presbyterian Church to receive the Henderson congregation formally into the United presbyterian Church of America.
In July of 1900, the Rev. J. L. Cook was transferred from Athens, Tennessee to Henderson, Nc to serve as pastor and principle. Rev. cook died on july 6,1903 and was succeeded by Dr. John adam Cotton as pastor and principle.
With the going of Dr. Cotton to Knoxville College, the Rev. John r. Dungee assumed charge of the Henderson church as minister. In April of 1942, Rev. Dungee was commisioned as a chaplin in the U. S. Army and Rev. Saint Paul Epps became ministerof the Hederson and Townsville Congregations. In August of 1946, Rev. Epps resigned to accept a position in Los Angles, CA.
Rev. John R. Dungee returned to Henderson as minister of the Henderson and Townsville congregations in October of 1946. He ministered to the two congregations with dedicated devotion and througha merger in 1963. He honorable sreved